Our Discography

Our debut CD is a combination of “The Seven Last Words of Christ” by Joseph Haydn and XXcentury
music. Following the tonal and dramatic progression of the masterpiece by Haydn we have replaced
some of the movements by compositions by Reger, Webern, Sibelius and Schostakovich. With this
CD we wanted to create one continuous story and meditation for our listeners. In order to achieve
that, we have used the short texts from the oratorio version of “The Seven Last Words”, which used
to be read by the Bishop during the Good Friday. For this project we have invited renowned singer
Claron McFadden, who takes the “role” of bishop and a guide for the whole CD, by reading these
texts and setting a mood before every piece.
The program of our CD consists of string quartet music, which has been arranged specially for our
formation, mainly by the members of the quartet. We believe that the sound of the Ebonit Saxophone
Quartet brings a new, innovative and fresh view for that music.
Our debut CD received an Edison Klassiek Nomination in 2016:
“”The Ebonit Saxophone Quartet has an impressive sound and delivers here with rotating and pure
interplay an even ambitious as imposant debute. The arranged strinking Sieben letzten Worte
from Joseph Haydn forms the spine of this wonderfull album, with a special involvement from Claron
The arabesque is the red thread that leads us through this program. At first sight, the musical worlds of fin de siècle-composers Claude Debussy, Leoš Janáček, and Camille Saint-Saëns might seem far apart. However, the form of the arabesque is where they find each other: the balancing between the recognisable form and the dream sequence. Debussy’s well-known piano works are alternated by some early works for piano four hands, all arranged by the Ebonit Saxophone Quartet. This program is full of blending colours in the music of Debussy combined with misty Moravian folk music by Janáček and concrete sounds in Saint-Saëns’ Danse Macabre.
De Volkskrant about Ebonit’s CD ‘Arabesque’, released on 7 Mountain Records: “No virtuosic exuberance, but the small gesture: Arabesque sounds like pure magic.”

Would you like to order our CDs? Please write us an email, or fill in the contact form

Gallery Images


  • Volkskrant
    “Alleskunners bij het Ebonit Saxophone Quartet”
  • Vrije Geluiden
    “Steekt qua intensiteit een goeie strijkkwartetversie naar de kroon”
  • NRC
    “Ebonit rekt Haydns muziek gloedvol op”
  • Audaud
    “This short excerpt Nachtlied Op.138/3 comes the closest to the kind of solemnity that one associates with Sacred Music.”
  • Concerti
    “Das Ebonit Saxophone Quartet spielt ohne Näseln und andere Aufdringlichkeiten, dafür mit vielen fein gezeichneten Linien, mit klarer Verteilung der Stimmen, mit pochenden Bass-Fundamenten, klagenden, seufzenden Oberstimmen und subtilen Trillern.”
  • Klassieke zaken
    “buitengewoon homogeen en spannend”
  • Friesch Dagblad
    “De muzikanten beheersen hun instrument tot in de puntjes”

Send us a message

Get in touch

  • Please enter your name
  • Please enter a message
  • Cannot send mail, an error occurred while delivering this message. Please try again later.
  • Your message was sent successfully. Thanks!

Subscribe and receive the following

  • updates over our newest projects
  • information about upcoming concerts
  • always hear about our news